Points of interests

Discover all the buildings and heritage of the district

The façade of the old Cal Valls house “Cal Maco” dates from 1914, and is the work of architect Josep Pausas Coll. It was a residential building for an important family of tanners, descendants of Rafael Valls. It has an eclectic style with classical elements, 18th century baroque and a ceiling with modernist elements in the entrance. The first floor gallery, which creates a balcony for the upper floor, is particularly outstanding.

Pl. de la Creu, 18

  • Josep Pausas Coll
  • 1914
  • classic, baroque, modernist

It was renovated in 1984 to house the Regional Archive of Anoia and was also the headquarters of the Photographic Association of Igualada. Since 2022 -with the transfer of the Archive to the La Tenería building in the Plaza del Rey- it has been converted into a hostel for pilgrims, a visitor centre and a Saint Ignatius of Loyola interpretation centre. Protected as a Local Site of Cultural Interest.

More information: www.turismeigualada.cat