Points of interests

Discover all the buildings and heritage of the district

The origins of the Igualada irrigation canal and the flour mill known by the place name of the Abbey, date back to the 12th century. It is, therefore, the original element of the Rec, its construction dates back to the time between the High and Low Middle Ages.

The irrigation canal took water from a lock to the west near the New Mill, to the Abbey Mill, to the east, over 3 kilometres. Despite being far from the centre of the district, the Abbey Mill complex (irrigation canal and the lock) is key to understanding how the irrigation canal ended.

The old Abbey mill stopped forever in 1955.

Rda. del Rec, s/n / c. Molí de l’Abadia

  • s. XII